Connect with us

Agnes Isika Blog

NEITI Board Members Inaugurated (See List)

NEITI Board Members Inaugurated (See List)

The Nigeria Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative’s board NEITI), has been inaugurated by the Federal Government.

The 5th National Stakeholders Working Group (NSWG), consisting of 14 members, is in charge of repositioning the extractive industry following international best practices.

Boss Mustapha, Secretary to the Federation’s Government, stated that they were chosen based on their individual talent and track record.

According to the SGF, President Muhammadu Buhari’s appointment reflects his commitment to transparency and accountability in the administration of economic resources.

Mustapha urged the team to stick to their mandate’s tenets by effectively implementing the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI).

“It is your responsibility to ensure efficient EITI implementation in Nigeria by providing policy and strategic direction, advice, monitoring, and supervision to the EITI process in Nigeria,” he explained.

The appointees comprise of the Chairman: Olusegun Adeyemi Adekunle; NNPC Managing Director: Mele Kyari (Member, representing national Oil & Gas Company); FIRS Chairman: Muhammad Nami (member, Extractive Industry – Revenue Accountability); President of Nigeria Mining & Geosciences Society: Alabo Charles (Member, Extractive Industry, Professional Union).

Also Pengassan President: Festus Osifo (Extractive Industries, Professional Union Industries); Lorenzo Fiorillo (Chairman, OPTS / Oil & Gas Companies Rep); Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Mines and Steel Development: Oluwatoyin Akinlade (Rep, Government Extractive Industries – Mining); Peter Egbule (National Coordinator, Civil Society Rep).

Bashir Bature Gafai – Member (North-West); Iliya Gashinbaki – Member (North-East); Godwin Akor Ogwuche – Member (North-Central); Prof. Damilola Olawuyi – Member (South-West); Nze Joe Ibeh – Member (South-East); Awowoh Christian – Member (South-South); Ogbonnaya Orji – Member (Executive Secretary, NEITI).

In his speech, Adekunle stated that the board will make the extractive sectors more transparent and accountable.

The chairman guaranteed of the NEITI secretariat’s policy direction, monitoring, guidance, and oversight to ensure the organization’s achievements since its start.

The team would look into the Petroleum Sector Bill (PIB), which was passed by the National Assembly, among other things, to prepare for the new outcomes expected in the industry and economy, he said.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in News

TrueTalk with Agnes

Today's Quote

“Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited, whereas imagination embraces the entire world, stimulating progress, giving birth to evolution.”

— Albert Einstein



To Top